2013 Goal: Learn to Grocery Shop Better And Smarter

One thing I have to say I am really, really, really bad atΒ (yes it deserves 3) is grocery shopping. I am not afraid to admit it, but I do have to say that it does always surprise me. For someone who loves to cook and enjoys grocery shopping I am horribleSorry mom, but I think I got my badness from you πŸ™‚ I can manage to go to the store, buy plenty, but then have nothing to make…or I have the same staples every time so I am only able able to make the same things over and over which absolutely bores me!

In order to train myself, I have set a goal for 2013. My goal is to LEARN TO GROCERY SHOP BETTER & SMARTER. In order to meet this goal, I have decided that I need to meal plan. This is something I have never done. Not only will this help me shop better, but this will also help me hopefully spend less (not buy things we don’t need) and eat healthier as I will think out our meals ahead of time. A good friend of mine (yes you Jessica) has been doing it for a while now and based on her blogging, it really seems to be working for her and what she is trying to achieve, so I am totally encouraged now to try it!

I do worry about my ability to succeed at this goal as we have a very busy schedule. However, as we are really good at keeping our calendars up to date, I think it will be OK as this will allow me to properly plan. Also, I know unexpected things will come up (like Tuesday night I ended up being at work until 7:30pm so my plan for that night got postponed and the hubby made chicken tacos for us) but overall I really think it will be good and will work!

Additionally, the Mr. has challenged me to actually use my cookbooks πŸ™‚ Yes, this is something else I am bad at. I LOVE cookbooks. Like I am obsessed with them. I love to look at them, and mark recipes I want to try, however, when it comes time to needing a recipe, I rarely look to them as it is so much easier to search online or look on Pinterest! So, in 2013, I have been challenged to make a meal from a recipe in one of my cookbook or magazines (yes I get a lot of those too) each week.

So for this week (1/6 – 1/12), here is what the plan is/has been:

Sunday: Veggie and Tofu Stir-Fry (from Cooking Light)

Monday: Salmon Florentine with Quinoa Pilaf (from Self Magazine)

Tuesday: Chicken Tacos (made by the hubby)

Wednesday: Bean & Barley Soup (from Eating Well Magazine)

Thursday: I had book club so the hubby was on his own…I am guessing he had PB&J?

Friday: Shrimp Fried Rice (from Eating Well Magazine)

Saturday: Leftovers or eat out

As we go, I will definitely plan to share recipes with you all! I probably won’t provide links until I actually write about them that way they are easier to reference.

I was a little behind getting this post done but for week 1 as it is now Friday, I think it worked really well. It was really nice to go home and know what my plan was for the evening instead of getting home and blankly staring at the fridge to figure something out! Week 1 done (assuming I follow through and cook tonight), now to come up with Week 2’s menu πŸ™‚

Hope you are all having a great day! Although it is freezing out it is absolutely gorgeous out! My view is AMAZING today. Clear view of the Olympics. Have a great weekend! Will be back with at least one of the recipes I made this week hopefully soon.

1 thought on “2013 Goal: Learn to Grocery Shop Better And Smarter

  1. !! πŸ™‚ I have to say, I was surprised that you weren’t a pro-planner and grocery shopper already! You definitely had me fooled πŸ™‚ I hope that this new method helps you shop smarter (and less often). I still feel like we spend way too much on groceries (food must just BE more expensive these days), but it has been really nice to know that we have a handful of meal options, which makes me a lot more inspired to cook! Good luck πŸ™‚ (And let’s plan a dinner date soon)!

Leave a comment