Cauliflower Pizza

I love pizza. I wish I could eat it every day. As I cannot, I am always on the lookout for alternative ways to get my pizza fix! When I saw that you could make “pizza crust” from cauliflower, I just knew I needed to give this recipe a try! I mean it has to be healthier right? End result….it was AMAZING. Cannot wait to try it again. Thinking maybe a chicken pesto one next time…or BBQ chicken…oh the options!
Cauliflower PizzaCauliflower Pizza Crust (from Mimosas in the Morning)
Ingredients:
1 cup cooked, riced cauliflower
1 cup shredded cheese (I used 3/4 mozzarella and 1/4 Parmesan)
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp crushed garlic
1/2 tsp garlic salt
pizza sauce, shredded cheese and your choice of toppings
Directions:
To “Rice” the Cauliflower:
Take 1 large head of fresh cauliflower, remove stems and leaves, and chop the florets into chunks. Add to food processor and pulse until it looks like grain/rice. Be careful not to over-do the pulsing or you will puree it. Place the riced cauliflower in a microwave safe bowl and microwave for 5 minutes (No need to add water, the natural moisture in the cauliflower is enough to cook itself).
Cauliflower Pizza 3To Make the Pizza Crust:
Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Spray a cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray.
In a medium bowl, stir together 1 cup cauliflower, egg and mozzarella. Add oregano, crushed garlic and garlic salt, stir. Transfer to the cookie sheet, and using your hands, pat out into a 7-9″ round. Bake at 450 degrees for 15 minutes.
Cauliflower Pizza 2Remove from oven. To the crust, add sauce, toppings and cheese. Place under a broiler at high heat just until cheese is melted (approximately 3-4 minutes).
For my pizza toppings I chose a tomato sauce base and topped it with sliced black olives, pepperoni, cooked onions, cooked red bell peppers and fresh basil. One item to note…based on the toppings you choose, you may need to pre-cook some of them as you are only placing the crust with toppings under the broiler for a few minutes.
As I said before, overall I loved this recipe. And it was actually pretty easy! Next time I make it, I might experiment with using a little less cheese in the crust.
Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Cauliflower Pizza

  1. I seriously cannot wait to try this recipe. I’m going to be sneaky and see if Greg notices after eating it! Did it taste like cauliflower in any way?

Leave a Reply

