Chicken Sausage and Quinoa Stuffed Squash

DSC_0331

What a wonderful Saturday so far. Much needed after my Friday. I can’t say Friday was horrible as I had a good tough workout in the morning and after work the Mr. and I had a great, relaxing dinner out together (even the pup got to join us!). My work day just didn’t go exactly how I wanted it to. All is well though…everything works out and happens for a reason. I just have to stay positive!

Anyhow, back to this morning. After being woken up way to early by the pup (or possibly I just couldn’t sleep), as usual, I made my 7am call to chat with my mom. Like my parents, I am an early riser so I always know when the rest of the world is still sleeping on a Saturday morning I can always call and catch up with my mom 🙂 While talking, she mentioned she wanted to do something before heading in to work today (it’s tax season so she is working 6-7 days a week…yuck!) and mentioned she might walk Greenlake. Hearing that, I quickly invited myself and the pup to join her 🙂 So, by 8:15 this morning we were both grabbing our Starbucks and heading out for a good walk around the lake! So nice to get out and enjoy the fresh air, catch up and get a little exercise in. Thanks mom!

Looking forward to the rest of the day. Right now, the Mr. is off playing in a golf tournament while I enjoy relaxing at home. Later this afternoon, we are planning to meet a group of friends at a new bar on Capitol Hill called Von Trapp’s. Afterwards, we are all heading to the Sounders game!

DSC_0332

While I have some downtime at home, I figured I should share this amazing dish I made last week. I absolutely loved it so I hope several of you will give it a try. I found the recipe in the March 2013 issue of Fitness Magazine. The flavors in this dish were awesome. Although it took a little time, it was well worth it. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Have a great Saturday…I know I am looking forward to the rest of my day!

Chicken Sausage and Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash (slightly adapted from Fitness Magazine – March 2013)

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium acorn squash (~1 pound each)
  • 1 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup quinoa
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2 links fresh chicken sausage, casings removed
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 ounces mozzarella, shredded (about 3/4 cup)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°. Cut squash in half horizontally and remove seeds; place cut side down in a baking dish filled with about 1 inch of water. Bake 45 minutes, or until a knife or fork easily pierces the squash. Meanwhile, bring broth to a boil in a medium saucepan. Add quinoa and simmer, partially covered, over medium-low heat for 15 minutes. Turn off heat and cover pot. Heat oil in a large nonstick pan over medium heat. Add sausage, cumin and salt. Sauté, breaking up meat with a spoon (5-10 minutes). Add onion, bell pepper and garlic. Cook 4 minutes then stir in quinoa and a tablespoon or two of the shredded mozzarella.

Transfer squash halves to a dry baking dish, cut side up. Pack each with an even amount of filling and bake 20 minutes. Press shredded cheese into each half and bake 5 minutes more, or until cheese has melted.

DSC_0333

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

