Total Experiment = Success!

With the Mr. out of town, making dinner just for myself isn’t very exciting. And, right now, I am trying to be really good and work my way through stuff we have in the cupboards/freezer/fridge. When he travels I tend to get in the habit of picking up sushi from the grocery store (I know, not the best but I still enjoy it), or eating cottage cheese, etc. But this week, I am making myself eat from what I have at home and use up some items so we don’t waste food!

Some of the things I have a lot of right now are zucchini, cucumbers and tomatoes. My mother-in-law was so nice and brought us a ton of stuff from her garden! They are all so good/fresh, however, for just one person it is a lot to get through. I can do it though…I love a good challenge 🙂

When it comes to using up items in the fridge, I often create stuff that sounds pretty odd. However, most the time (not always) they taste delicious! And thankfully this latest experiment turned out great and was totally satisfying.

It was BBQ Hawaiian Zucchini Pizza. Odd I know, but man did it taste GOOD!

It was super easy too. I took the giant zucchini I had and sliced off four pieces each about a half-inch thick and placed on a baking sheet. I then broiled them for about 7-10 minutes until they started to soften (flipped half way through). Next step was I spread a tablespoon of BBQ sauce on each slice, then topped with fresh mozzarella slices, Canadian bacon and pineapple chunks. I then put them back in the oven on broil and cooked them until the cheese was melted. End result in my mind was delicious. I made enough so that I could have it for lunch the next day!!!

To go with my pizza and to use up a few of the other items I sliced up a small cucumber and a bunch of tomatoes and a few sliced black olives and tossed them together. I then topped with a little olive oil, balsamic vinegar and salt and pepper. Wish I had a picture as it too was yummy.

Back to work for me! Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

