Dinner in a Hurry – Pesto Orzo

These last few days/weeks have been crazy! I don’t really feel like I have been able to cook. (Well, with the exception of Becca’s baby shower where I did a ton of cooking on Sunday! But more on that in a later post…that one will take some time!) Instead, we (the Mr. and I) have been going to others houses for dinner/fun events (game night, family birthday, etc.), or out to eat, or quickly grabbing whatever we can find to eat in the house.

Monday was the first night the Mr. and I were both home with no major plans. FINALLY! However, we got home kind of late from work and I haven’t been to the grocery store in ages to do proper shopping so it was a what do I have that needs to be used up kinda night!

Thankfully, it was a success. I happened to have a lot of stuff on hand that all went together very well. I ended up quickly making Spinach Pesto Orzo with Zucchini, Tomato and Spinach and a Caprese Salad. YUMMY! I say quickly as I think it took less than 20 minutes for me to make this meal and I was talking on the phone most of the time I was making it 🙂

Here is my guess on the recipe. I really need to start measuring when I make things I am going to blog about so that I can give you all an accurate recipe! Trust me, this is probably pretty close. And, with these ingredients you can’t go wrong with more or less. It will still taste good! 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Dry Orzo
  • 1 1/2 cups Zucchini (chopped)
  • 1 cup tomato (chopped – seeds removed)
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1/4 cup spinach pesto (any pesto will work – I just happened to have some spinach pesto in the freezer that I had made a while back)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Directions: Cook orzo according to package. While orzo is cooking, chop up the zucchini, and tomatoes. Heat small amount of olive oil in pan and cook zucchini for about 5 minutes (or until it starts to slightly soften). After orzo is cooked, drain and return to pan. Add in spinach and stir (spinach will start to wilt). Add in zucchini and tomatoes and mix. Add spinach pesto and salt and pepper and toss. Serve and Enjoy! Also, I added a little bit of Parmesan to top it off.

For the Caprese I took sliced tomatoes and sliced fresh mozzarella and alternated each on a plate. I drizzled it with olive oil and balsamic vinegar and topped with fresh sliced basil! Simple and delicious!

Hopefully after this week/weekend things slow down and I can get back to cooking more often! I have so many recipes I want to try!

Leave a Reply

