Feta, Watermelon and Basil Salad

When we were in Greece on our honeymoon we had a watermelon and feta salad that we absolutely loved for lunch one day. After sitting on the beach in the heat all morning, it was so refreshing and such a delicious combination of flavors. Ever since we have been talking about recreating the salad.

Well, the other day when we had our friends Luke and Michelle over for dinner, we just happened to have all the necessary ingredients on hand! So at the last minute, I decided to make my own version of the salad! Originally I wasn’t going to do any of the cooking as we had a Zaw Pizza coupon to use and as we had been so busy I didn’t have the energy to do my usual form of entertaining. However, I just couldn’t resist as a) we had all the ingredients, b) it is super easy to make and c) I felt we needed to add something sweet to the mix šŸ™‚ Although it didn’t really go with the pizza (BBQ Chicken) and spinach salad, I still decided to add it to the menu!

If you haven’t had Zaw Pizza I highly recommend it. I love their pizzas. All the ingredients are super fresh, the pizzas are made but not cooked so you take them home and make them when you are ready (take like 10 minutes to cook), the crust is thin and comes in wheat, original or gluten-free and they have some really unique types of pizzas (pear, blue cheese and prosciutto for example)! It is the perfect dinner to pick up when you are tight on time!

Anyhow, back to the salad…here are my quick instructions/ingredients:

  • 1 small watermelon
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta
  • 1/4 cup sliced fresh basil
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic glaze

Cut rind from the watermelon, then chop into 1 inch chunks. Sprinkle crumbled feta on top of watermelon. Drizzle balsamic glaze over watermelon/feta. Top with basil. Enjoy!

We have a big weekend coming up. Tomorrow night is game night! Morgan and Chris are hosting this month and we will all be bringing ingredients to make our own pizza’s. Then on Saturday my mom is hosting a Birthday Party for me (yup, my birthday is in just over a week…the big 3-2!). Family and some friends will be going to my parents house to BBBQ and watch UW play LSU (GO HUSKIES). Then on Sunday, I am helping host a baby shower for a very close friend of mine. As I love to cook, I am in charge of all the food. As I know Becca (mom-to-be) looks at this blog I can’t go into details of all that I am making but will be sure to post about it after the big event!

Have a great Friday and weekend!

One thought on “Feta, Watermelon and Basil Salad

Leave a Reply

