Zucchini Pizza

The title probably confuses most. I am not talking about a pizza made with zucchini on top. Instead, I am talking about a pizza made where the base/crust is zucchini. Yes, you did read that right. And, no, I am not crazy (promise). I saw Zucchini pizzas on Pinterest a long time ago and have wanted to make it ever since. The only thing holding me back…finding a zucchini that was large enough.

Well friends/family/followers, the time finally came when I found a large enough zucchini! This last weekend when visiting the in-laws, my mother-in-law gave me a zucchini from her garden that was big enough (woohoo)!!! Not only was it home-grown, it was also big. Man, I wish I would have taken a picture of the zucchini before I cut it up. But of course I forgot. This thing was at least a foot and a half long and at the fattest part probably 6+ inches wide. Absolutely perfect for me to test this newest recipe.

Like my 10 minute peach pita pizza, this recipe was super easy and fast. Perfect for a night where you need something in a hurry.

I started by cutting the zucchini into about 1/2 inch thick slices. Next, I chose to place the zucchini slices on a pizza stone and broil them, however, recipes I read recommended putting them on a grill. If the Mr. had been home I might have asked him to head up the grill, however, it was just my good friend Meg and I so instead I chose to broil as it was quick.

After about 10-12 minutes I pulled the zucchini slices out as they were just starting to soften and had turned slightly brown on top. Next up was putting the toppings on. I started by spreading about a tablespoon or two of tomato sauce over the zucchini slice. Next, I put a layer of shredded mozzarella cheese (probably 2 or so tablespoons). Then I placed about six slices of turkey pepperoni on top of the cheese, and sprinkled on some sliced black olives. Finally, I topped it with about a tablespoon of shredded sharp cheddar cheese.

After all the toppings were put on, I transferred them back in the oven (still on broil) for about 5 or fewer minutes. Just long enough for the cheese to melt.

Man were these good. I will definitely make them again. In fact, I am tempted to make them as an appetizer for something. You could totally use the smaller zucchini’s you usually see in stores for bit size pizzas 🙂

With the pizzas I also served a cucumber, tomato, feta salad. My mother-in-law also sent me home with tomatoes and cucumbers from her garden. All I did was slice the tomatoes and cucumbers up and toss them with a little bit of feta, olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Simple and absolutely delicious!

Today is my Friday! Can’t wait for the LONG weekend. Tomorrow is a girl day with my mom. Shopping and golf. Husky Football starts on Saturday and I am beyond excited for that. I do love my Huskies 🙂 We also, have two BBQ’s and a golf tournament this weekend. Like typical Piep style, we will be BUSY. Just how we like it!

I do have some cooking to do this weekend so will be back next week with some more exciting stuff (well I find it exciting!).

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

