My version of a Fresh Spring Roll

Wow, how has over a week come and gone and I still haven’t posted about the rest of my dinner with the XO ladies? As you can tell, I am still getting used to posting and making a habit of it! 🙂 Sorry for the long delay!

So, as I mentioned, I needed two posts to explain this dinner. The first, as I already wrote about, was the peach, ricotta crostini appetizer (which as I previously mentioned was delicious!).

For the main dish, I went in a completely different direction. Well, the main dish I had planned first and then decided to throw the appetizer in their last minute…anyhow…the main dish was build yourself fresh spring rolls. I love making fresh spring rolls for dinner. There are so many different ingredients you can use and they are packed with veggies so you don’t feel bad/unhealthy after dinner (at least I don’t)! 🙂

The picture below is how I set the table for the ladies and gives you an idea of what all I include in my spring rolls. Below is my attempt at a recipe.

Note: This meal is one where you basically cut up all the vegetables and set them in bowls on the table. Cook the tofu, meat, shrimp, etc. and also then place it on the table. Set out any sauces. Fill bowls, pie dishes, or whatever dish you think will work. with boiling water and also then set them on the table. Have your guests sit down, grab a sheet of rice paper, dunk it in the water for about 10-15 seconds (until soft) then stuff with whatever they want, fold it like a burrito and then EAT! 🙂

Ingredients (just my suggestions…you can use almost anything you want in these!):

  • 1 Package Firm Tofu
  • Shrimp (I used already cooked frozen shrimp from Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 Bell Pepper (thinly sliced)
  • 2 Roma Tomatoes (thinly sliced, seeds removed)
  • 1 Cup Sliced Mushrooms
  • 1 Cup Shredded Carrots
  • 1 Cup Bean Sprouts
  • 1 Cucumber
  • 1 Avocado (sliced)
  • 10-12 Rice Wrappers/Paper
  • Peanut Sauce (I used one from Trader Joe’s)
  • Plum Sauce

Directions: Slice Tofu into 1 inch pieces. Heat pan over medium heat with 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Cook tofu until slightly brown. While tofu is cooking, slice all the vegetables and place each of them as well as sauces and shrimp in a separate bowl/dish or arrange on a platter. Bring water (about 8 cups) to a boil then transfer to pie dishes and set on the table. Have guests dunk a sheet of rice paper in the hot water for about 10-15 seconds. Lay on plate and stuff with any of the available items (veggies, shrimp, tofu, sauce). Then wrap the bottom up and then each of the sides (like you would a taco/burrito). Eat and enjoy 🙂

With this dinner, I also served edamame and Trader Joe chicken gyoza. Overall, I think this meal was a big hit. And I love when there are leftovers as it makes a great salad the next day!

Hope you are all doing well! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

