Peach, Prosciutto and Ricotta Crostini

On Monday night, my XO (Chi Omega) family came over for dinner. We were celebrating two things. First, it was Megs 31st birthday and second, Karen was in town from NYC! Being that I love any excuse to entertain, I volunteered to host a dinner so that we could all spend some quality time together as it doesn’t happen often enough! Sadly a few of the other XO family members couldn’t make it but thankfully this coming Friday night we get another chance to hang out again before Karen heads back to NYC! Note: I do not call it her home as I am convinced she will move back soon (fingers crossed) 🙂

Anyhow, back to the dinner and the reason for this post. I am actually going to split it into two posts. This one is all about the appetizer. Based on how it turned out, I felt it deserved its own post! All I can say is you must try this appetizer. One word describes it – incredible! It is melt in your mouth amazing! And, it is SUPER easy!

I can’t remember where I first saw this recipe but I saw it again on a friend’s Facebook page. Her and her girlfriends had made a version of it on a recent trip of theirs. The picture looked too good for me not to try to do it myself 🙂

Peach, Prosciutto and Ricotta Crostini

Ingredients:

  • Ciabatta bread (approx. 12 slices)
  • 1-2 ripe peaches
  • 1 cup fresh ricotta
  • 12 thin slices prosciutto
  • Honey (1 teaspoon and extra for drizzle)
  • 1 tablespoon lemon Juice
Directions: Grill bread slices (note: I lightly brushed each of mine with olive oil, however, this is not necessary, and then put them on a baking sheet under the broiler for about 5 minutes flipping once). Halve, pit, and thinly slice each peach. Combine ricotta, lemon juice and about 1 teaspoon (or to taste) of honey. Spread about 1 tablespoon (or a little more) of the ricotta mix onto each piece of bread. Top with a slice of prosciutto and 2-3 peach slices. Drizzle each with honey. Enjoy!
I loved these so much that last night for dinner I made a few for myself. They worked perfect as a meal!!! And was excellent with a glass of Malbec 🙂 The only change I made was I used a nectarine instead of a peach. It was just as delicious! Be back later with a post on the dinner I put together! Have a great day!
Leave a Reply

