Dinner in 10 – Peach Pita Pizza

Last night was crazy! Between working until after 6:30pm, rushing home to walk Leo and rushing straight to my condo Board meeting at 7:30pm, I didn’t have much time for dinner. In fact, I didn’t even get to think about dinner until 8:45pm when I got home from my Board meeting!

When I got home I really didn’t want to make anything, however, we didn’t have anything easy to grab. Well I guess we had granola and yogurt but that just didn’t sound like dinner to me. Right now, our fridge is a miscellaneous mix of food. There are a lot of good items, however, not the easiest combination of ingredients to come up with dinner options. Side note: I am still trying to learn how to grocery shop. I always say I am going to make a list and have meals for the week planned, however, that has yet to happen! Some day I will figure it out 🙂

Sorry, got distracted, back to dinner…after looking in the fridge for inspiration I decided I again needed to do something with peaches as we have a lot and a few are getting SUPER ripe! I know, hard to have to eat peaches 🙂 I also noticed we had some pita bread in the fridge that really, really, really needed to be used. Based on those two items it all of a sudden hit me…Peach Pita Pizza!!!

I have been wanting to make a peach pizza for a while now. I saw it on Pinterest a few weeks back and ever since it has been on my mind so last night was my chance. Well, OK, it wasn’t really pizza, however, it was a pizza style dish. Here is a picture I snapped on my phone of how dinner turned out. Not the best picture but it gives you an idea of what it looked like. See below for my recipe.

image

Recipe:

  • 1 Pita
  • 1 Peach (cut into 1 in chunks)
  • 1/4 cup ricotta cheese (total guess as I didn’t measure – probably was a little less or more depending on how you like it)
  • Honey (to taste)
  • 5 basil leaves (thinly sliced)

Instructions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spread ricotta on pita and top with peaches. Drizzle a little bit of honey over peaches and pita. Cook for 5-7 minutes or until heated. Top with basil.

I wasn’t sure how this was going to turn out, but thankfully it was good! Felt like I was having dinner and dessert all at once! This was super easy and quick. I think it took me about 10 minutes in total (not counting the time it took me to figure out what the heck to make).

If you want a quick easy dinner, I highly recommend giving this a go. I still want to try an official Peach Pizza one of these days but until then this totally hit the spot!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

