Is It Possible…A Healthy Cookie???

I do think it is possible that a cookie can now be “healthy”…well OK, so maybe not healthy but the cookies I am writing about in this post are as close as you are going to get! In my opinion, these cookies are a must try! They were delicious! I brought some on the boat with us for Seafair and they were well liked. And, as I was eating way too many at home I brought a lot in to work a few days later and they were gone by the end of the day! People devoured them.

They are super moist (man, I hate that word but just not sure how else to describe them!) and extremely tasty (bet you are happy I didn’t use extremely with my least favorite word above..ha). And, although they are a cookie, I didn’t feel all that bad about eating a second one as there is NO oil/butter in these babies…instead there is applesauce. I have heard of substituting applesauce for oil in cakes however not that I recall in cookies. So glad my packet of Bob’s Red Mill Muesli had this recipe on it because I am in love 🙂

Chocolate Chip Applesauce Muesli Cookies (From Bob’s Red Mill Website and on side of Muesli package)

  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 6 oz Chocolate Chips
  • 3/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 2/3 cup Applesauce
  • 3/4 cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli

Directions: Sift flour, baking soda, and salt together and set aside. Blend applesauce, sugar and vanilla together. Beat in egg. Add flour mixture and mix. Stir in Muesli and chocolate chips. Drop by tablespoons on lightly greased cookie sheet. Bake at 375°F for 10-12 minutes. Makes 24 cookies.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

