Greek Game Night – Fava Bean Dip with Caramelized Onions

Clearly as I am just starting this blog, there could be some things from the past that I just have to share. And the game night we had with close friends a few weeks back is definitely one of them! Sadly, I didn’t take any pictures of the group 😦 But that doesn’t stop me from wanting to write about it and share one recipe in particular that I made (that I did remember to snap a shot of)!

Every month or every other month a close group of friends (sorority sisters and their significant others) gets together: Becca & Cam, Amanda & Paul, Morgan & Chris and the hubby & I. Each time, we rotate who hosts as well as what part of the meal we each bring (host usually does main, and the others sides/appetizers/desserts).

These are awesome nights! Great food, good games, and awesome company! I always look forward to them. Lately, our games of choice have been Catchphrase and Things.

For this game night, as we recently returned from our Honeymoon in Greece, I thought it would be fun to do a Greek themed dinner. For the main dish I made gyros pita (I followed this recipe from The Domestic Man for the meat – overall two thumbs up!) In addition, I made baked feta (super easy – marinara sauce poured over a block of feta cheese and baked until bubbling) as an appetizer which was devoured! Other items brought were spanakopita, Greek olives, dolmas, greek salad and a cherry bourbon cake (if I remember correctly). Everything was amazing!

The favorite dish I made was a dip using fava beans. I had purchased some fava beans while we were in Athens so I clearly wanted to use them to tie in the Greek theme! After searching a bunch of recipes I decided to go with one I found on Manifest Vegan. Let me tell you, it was AMAZING! So glad I found and tried this recipe.

Ingredients (directly from site mentioned above with a few comments):

  • 1 bag (about 3 cups) of dried fava beans cooked
  • 1/3 cup Olive oil
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed (pretty sure I used 3-4…sorry can’t remember exactly)
  • 1 tbsp cumin (pretty sure I added some extra!)
  • 1 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 medium sized onion, sliced
  • Margarine (I used butter) for cooking
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • paprika for garnish

After beans have cooked, place beans, olive oil, lemon juice, crushed garlic, cumin, salt and cayenne pepper into a food processor and blend until smooth. Top with caramelized onions and paprika

This dip was delicious. I served it with pita chips and our guests gobbled it up! Definitely adding this to my favorite recipes!

Can’t wait until our next game night. Should be coming up in a few weeks! Hope everyone is well!

Leave a Reply

