Peach Quinoa Spinach Salad

Last weekend, Noah picked up a box of peaches while at Costco (yes, awesome husband…he made a Costco run without me!) and since then neither of us can get enough of them. I knew Noah liked peaches, but I didn’t realize that he actually LOVES them! He told me how when his family lived in Tri-Cities they had a peach tree (as well as other fruit trees) in their yard and he used to go out and pick a ton of peaches, bring them back and slice them 6+ at a time and put them all into a bowl. Then, while he watched TV, he would eat them all in one sitting!

So the other night, Noah mentioned we should make some kind of salad with peaches. Loving a challenge, I went searching online and couldn’t find something to match items we already had on hand.  I am awful at remembering to use items I already have when I find recipes so I am really, really trying to be better about it instead of just running to the store. So, instead of following a recipe exactly (which I rarely do), I merged a few recipes I had come across and came up with a Peach Quinoa Spinach Salad.

Let me tell you…it was AMAZING! We both devoured it (note: done while watching the Wire which is our current favorite TV show and we are sadly now done with it).

I highly recommend giving this one a try! You won’t be disappointed!

Peach Quinoa Spinach Salad
approx. 4 servings

1 cup quinoa (cook according to package instructions – typically 2 cups water to 1 cup quinoa – bring to boil for approx. 15 minutes (or until water absorbed) then let stand covered for another 5)
4-6 cups spinach

Dressing:
1 tbsp Balsamic Vinegar
1 tbsp Olive Oil
1 tsp lemon juice

Topping:
2 Peaches
8 large basil leaves – sliced
6 mint leaves – sliced
Crumbled Feta

While the quinoa is cooking, cut up peaches and toss with basil, mint and feta. Set aside. After quinoa has cooked, while it is still warm, add spinach and mix together. Then add dressing and toss. Place quinoa/spinach mixture onto serving dish and top each serving with Peach mixture.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

