On a Quinoa Kick

I definitely go in stages when it comes to quinoa. A while back, I was eating it with fruit for breakfast almost every day (quinoa + almond butter + strawberries/blueberries = heavenly!). Then I got on a shake kick and haven’t really cooked it since. Not sure why as it is amazingly good! Well lately, having it in salads is what I am loving! Last night, I really wanted Mexican but I didn’t want to make tacos/fajita’s (I had made a version of them on Monday night for dinner), a taco salad sounded kinda boring (plus we only had spinach in the house and that in my opinion just wouldn’t have worked) and I didn’t have cheese so a quesadilla was not an option, so then I thought…why not make a Mexican themed quinoa??? It turned out really, really good! Love when I can throw something together!!!

See the recipe below. Almost time for the weekend! Ours will be a busy one as usual. Tomorrow we will be going out on Brie and Ryan’s boat with some other friends and then on Sunday we have our 2nd Adventure Day. Will be sure to update you all!

Fiesta Quinoa (as I call it)

Approx. 6 Servings

2 cup quinoa
2 Bell Peppers (any color)
1 Can Corn
1 Can Black Beans (rinsed)
1 Can olives (whole or sliced)
1 cup cherry tomatoes (cut in half or quarters)

(Could add other items like: onion, cilantro, jalapeno, etc.)

1lb Cooked Shrimp
2 tbsp Taco Seasoning
¼ Cup Water

Cook according to package instructions. While quinoa is cooking, chop up bell peppers and slice tomatoes. Combine bell peppers, corn, black beans tomatoes and olives in bowl. After quinoa has cooked add it to bowl and toss. Meanwhile, heat shrimp with taco seasoning and water until warm and sauce has slightly thickened. Add and mix with other ingredients.

Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “On a Quinoa Kick

Leave a Reply

