Perfect Wedding Day Brunch: Apple Coconut Waffles and Breakfast Casserole

Man, has life been crazy these last few weeks! Sorry for not posting much lately. I was on a roll there for a bit and then it came to a sudden STOP. Sadly, this means I also haven’t been cooking much :-( I don’t like when this happens as cooking relaxes me and also helps me control my bad eating habits! However, when work gets crazy (which is pretty dang hectic right now) I don’t get to spend as much time in the kitchen. Well, I am finally back to share a breakfast item I did a few weekends back that I haven’t had time to write about. I actually have two to share, but will post them separately :-)

Two weekends ago was my brother-in-laws wedding! What a weekend. So much fun but by Monday I was exhausted (and we all probably read what happened that Monday….)! There was lots of family in town and lots (I mean lots) of fun. The wedding was awesome and the weather cooperated. It was a gorgeous Seattle fall day! Josh & Kylin’s wedding was held on an old ferry-boat on Lake Union with an amazing view of downtown. It was held in the evening so the view on such a clear day was gorgeous! The bride and groom both looked stunning and I am so happy to have Kylin as a sister!

Over the wedding weekend, the Mr. and I were able to open our home for out-of-town family to hang out at and even have some stay at. Thankfully we have two extra bedrooms so we were able to have 4 guests on any given night!The first night we had the hubby’s parents and grandma and grandpa. On the next two nights we had cousins.

As I love any excuse to cook, I hosted a brunch for 10 on the day of the wedding. The groom had stayed with us the night before so I wanted to be sure he had a hearty meal in him and also it gave the family a good excuse to come see him before the ceremony.

There was no question on what I was going to cook. A few weeks early at my book club brunch, my friend Amanda had made the most amazing meal! I just knew it was perfect to cook for the family. They were Apple Coconut Waffles and a breakfast casserole. Both recipes came from a blog Amanda introduced me to called Multiply Delicious. So far, all recipes I have tried from this blog are amazing and healthy. I loved the flavors in both of these. The casserole has sweet potatoes in it (YUM) and the waffles have coconut which I absolutely LOVE!

Overall these were pretty easy. Some of the ingredients were definitely ones I didn’t have on hand, but thankfully I had no problem finding them at our Whole Foods! Overall I think they were a big hit as I didn’t have any leftover waffles and I had very little of the casserole.

If you want to try something different, I highly recommend either of these recipes. They are great each by themselves. Recipes are below.

Apple Coconut Waffles (from Multiply Delicious)

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup (or honey)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup water
  • 1 ½ cups almond flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon arrowroot powder
  • ½ apple, peeled and grated (yes grated, never done this before but was super easy!)
  • ¼ cup unsweetened shredded coconut

Instructions: In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, maple syrup, vanilla, and water until smooth. Add the almond flour, salt, baking soda, arrowroot powder, and cinnamon and mix thoroughly.  Add apples and coconut and mix to combine. In a preheated and greased waffle iron, scoop batter onto iron and cook until golden brown or as your waffle irons instructions. You can top waffles with additional coconut, toasted pecans, apple slices, berries, etc. and serve along with maple syrup or jam.

Breakfast Casserole (from Multiply Delicious)

  • 1 pound breakfast sausage
  • 1 large sweet potato or 2 medium to small, diced
  • 2-3 cups fresh baby spinach, chopped
  • 1 green onion, diced
  • 10-12 large eggs
  • sea salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

Instructions: Preheat oven to 375 degrees and grease a 9×13″ baking dish with coconut oil or whatever you choose. Set aside. Prepare veggies. Dice sweet potatoes, chop spinach, and dice up green onion. Let each separately aside. Heat skillet over medium-high heat.  Remove sausage from casing and add sausage to skillet.  Cook until browned and cooked through.  Remove sausage from skillet keeping the sausage grease.  Add sweet potatoes to grease and cook until tender, stir occasionally, about 10 to 15 minutes. Remove sweet potatoes and place in bowl. Toss sweet potatoes with spinach, green onion, sausage, and salt and pepper until well combined. Place the mixture into your prepared dish, spreading evenly across the bottom of the dish. In another large bowl, whisk eggs. Pour egg mixture evenly over the sausage and veggie mixture in dish. Bake in preheated over for 25 to 30 minutes or until set. Allow to cool slightly before serving. Cut into squares and serve. Serves 8-10.

As I had 10 people, I doubled the waffle recipe and I did 1.5x the casserole recipe. Just writing about these make me crave them again. This will definitely go in my list of brunch ideas for the future. Just amazing! Definitely recommend checking out the blog where these recipes are from…there are a lot of other interesting ones that I look forward to trying!

Hope you are well!

Leave a Reply

